## Academy of Certified Archivists Annual Business Meeting August 4, 2019 Austin, Texas JW Marriott Hotel

Todd Welch convened the meeting at 12:03 p.m.

- 1. Welcome to members and thanks to those who attended the 30<sup>th</sup> anniversary celebration last night. Thanks also to Hollinger Metal Edge for their sponsorship of the celebration.
- 2. Approving minutes
  - a. Emily Dominick asked for consideration and approval of the business meeting minutes for 2018. Motion to approve the minutes: Kim Efird; Second: Mott Linn; Decision: business meeting minutes from August 16, 2018 were approved unanimously.
- 3. Officer Reports
  - a. President: Todd Welch
    - Summarized the on-going strategic plan initiatives as well as the RFP process that was undertaken to call for bids for an association management company; Capitol Hill Management Services, our existing provider, has been selected for a two year contract
    - ii. Gave a brief update of the ACA Oral History Project
  - b. Vice President: Tim Slavin
    - i. Thanked Todd Welch for serving his second year as President of ACA and for his mentorship
    - ii. Summarized his duties including sitting in on the Exam Development Committee and helping with exam application reviews
    - iii. Pointed out that there is no shortage of opportunities for volunteers in the upcoming year
  - c. Treasurer: Gerrianne Schaad
    - i. Briefly summarized handout of report explaining the recent finance committee decision to cash out two CDs; opened the floor for questions
  - d. Secretary: Emily Dominick
    - Thanked the board and membership for opportunity to serve two terms as secretary
- 4. Regent Reports
  - a. Exam Administration: Daria Labinsky reported that 160 applicants were set to take the exam and 18 had their applications held; there were 11 test locations this year. Labinsky also mentioned that 1 travel assistance award was given and summarized the graduate course pre-approval program and introduced the members of that committee.
  - b. Exam Development: Jane Zhang summarized the routine work for exam development and those involved in the Exam Development Committee; there are 3 new members as well as 2 vacancies for next year. There was also work to analyze the RDS (Role Delineation Statements) to inform and support a task force which will examine the RDS this coming year. Zhang also mentioned exploration of a cultural competency domain.

- c. Regent for Certification Maintenance: Stephanie Malmros reported that 161 ACA members were up for recertification this year; five petition review teams consisting of 7 returning and 8 new team members worked through 146 petitions for recertification. Malmros thanked all the volunteers who assist in this work.
- d. Regent for Outreach: Dara Baker thanked all of those who attended ACA's 30<sup>th</sup> anniversary celebration; a special thanks to Stephanie Malmros and the Dolph Briscoe Center for hosting. Baker thanked volunteers that help with various aspects of Outreach including Jim Havron, Grant Gerlich, and Linda Hocking; additional volunteers will be needed to fill vacant roles. Bake also reported that she would be hosting ACA office hours during the SAA meeting this year so that members or others interested could stop by during that time for questions or comments.
- e. Regent for Nominations: Louis Jones
  - Election results: VP/President-Elect: Tomaro Taylor; Secretary: Marie Force; Regent for Exam Administration: Rosemary Pleva Flynn; Regent for Certification Maintenance: Stephanie Bayless; Nominating Committee: Mary McRobinson
  - ii. Thanks to Cheryl Oestreicher and Christina Zamon for their membership on this committee
  - Distinguished Service Awards presented to Linda Hocking and Becky Haglund Tousey
- 5. Proposed By-law amendments
  - a. By-law amendments include addition of the mission statement (recently crafted and finalized by Louis Jones, Leon Miller, and Michael Barera); addition of a Regent for Member Services; addition of committees; addition of electronic voting to the voting process. Motion to approve the by-law amendments as written: Kim Efird; Second: Mott Linn. Motion passed unanimously.

Meeting adjournment at 12:59 p.m.